Destination West End with the Ian Fleming Musical Theatre Awards

Seven bright young musical theatre students have received grants through the Ian Fleming Musical Theatre awards.

Students are nominated by their college for the awards and the funding offers financial support for postgraduate and final year undergraduate students on musical theatre courses. The grants range from £1,500 to £4,000 and this year a total of £20,500 was awarded. The highest grant this year was awarded to Eleanor Sutton (pictured right), a mezzo-soprano studying at Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts.

The students auditioned in front of a star studded panel, chaired by Graham Bickley. Graham is director for The Theatre Royal Drury Lane Theatrical Fund and has performed in the West End for the last twenty five years. Joining Graham on the panel were Claire Moore famed for her role as Christine in the original company of The Phantom of the Opera; James Orange, the in-house casting director for Cameron Mackintosh Ltd; Clive Rowe, Olivier award winner for his role in Guys and Dolls and Jenna Russell, Tony award nominee and Olivier award winner currently starring in Merrily We Roll Along.

This year’s Ian Fleming Musical Theatre Award recipients are:

Jennifer Evans- Snell (London School of Musical Theatre)
Jonathan Halliwell (Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts)
Anna Richardson (Royal Academy of Music)
Courtney Stapleton (Arts Educational School London)
Eleanor Sutton (Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts)
Samuel Townsend (Royal Central School of Speech and Drama)
Isabel Wroe Wright (Mountview Academy of Theatre Arts)

Look out for these promising young stars on a stage near you soon!

ShareShare this Back
Help Musicians UK on Twitter

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ™

12 hours ago

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ™

12 hours ago

Who's feeling a little *seen* after yesterday's ? ๐Ÿ‘€

13 hours ago

Follow us