Angela Elizabeth Slater

Award: Transmission Fund

Year: 2019

Genre: Contemporary Classical

Instrument/voice type: Composer

Location: West Midlands


Angela Elizabeth Slater is a UK-based composer. She is also the founder of the Illuminate ​series set up to raise the profile of women composers. In her AHRC-funded PhD in composition at the University of Nottingham, Angela developed an interest in incorporating different aspects of the natural world into her compositions. She has been working on a series of works that engage
Angela has recently participated in the 2017 St Magnus Composition Course, working with Alasdair Nicholson and Sally Beamish, and the Britten-Pears Young Artists Composers’ Course 2017, where she worked with Oliver Knussen, Colin Matthews and Michael Gandolfi. Her work Soaring in Stasis was premiered at the 2018 Aldeburgh Festival on 22nd June. She has recently been selected for Moonlight Symphony Orchestra’s composition workshops programme, which will result in a new work being premiered in 2019. Angela is also the 2018 Young Composer of the Year for the London Firebird Orchestra, leading to a new work, Twilight Inversions, which will be premiered 11th June 2019. She is also delighted to be the winner New England Philharmonic’s 2018 call for scores. NEP will premiere her piece Roil in Stillness 27th April 2019. Angela has recently become a 2018 Mendelssohn Scholar and will continue her studies with Michael Gandolfi in Boston in Spring 2019. In June Angela will have two exciting performances one from the Hildegard National Sawdust ensemble giving her Rainbow Fires its world-premiere in Brooklyn, New York on 4th June 2019, followed by a world-premiere of her work Of Spheres for string quartet by the Semiosis quartet on 7th or 8th June 2019 at the International Alliance for Women in Music conference at Berklee College of Music in Boston, MA, USA.