Antonina Suhanova

Award: Transmission Fund

Year: 2019

Genre: Classical

Instrument/voice type: Piano

Location: London


Latvian pianist Antonina Suhanova has been performing on international stages since 2000. In 2012 Antonina commenced her studies at the Guildhall School of Music and Drama under the tutelage of the distinguished British pianist Ronan O’Hora. She has participated in numerous masterclasses of world-renowned pianists, including Vladimir Ashkenazy, Dmitri Bashkirov, Boris Berman, Idil Biret, Pavel Gililov, Matti Raekallio, Richard Goode, Robert Levin and Yefim Bronfman. Antonina holds Bachelor of Music, Master of Performance and Artist Diploma degrees from GSMD, and her studies have been generously supported with a full scholarship throughout the years.
Antonina Suhanova has given performances at the Great Guild Hall in Riga, Moscow International House of Music, Erin Arts Centre in Isle of Man, LSO St Luke’s, St Martin in the Fields, St James’s Piccadilly, Milton Court Concert Hall and Barbican Hall in London. She has appeared as a soloist with orchestras in Latvia, London and Moscow collaborating with such distinguished conductors as Andris Nelsons and Vladimir Spivakov, amongst others. Antonina has performed at renowned festivals in the United Kingdom, Italy, Germany, Netherlands, Latvia, Switzerland, Austria and Russia. She made her debut performance at the Barbican Hall with the Guildhall Symphony Orchestra in 2016. Performances of Antonina have been broadcasted by Latvian Radio 3 “Klasika”, Russian TV Channel One, Switzerland radio Espace 2 and BBC 3.
She is the winner of Hattori Foundation Senior Award, Kenneth Loveland Gift, Help Musicians UK, Drake Calleja Trust, and the William Brown prize in the Scottish International Piano Competition (2017). In March 2018 she was nominated for the International German Piano Award 2018.
In November 2018 she made her debut performance at the Wigmore Hall, being broadcast live on the BBC Radio 3. In 2019 she became a winner of Making Music UK Philip and Dorothy Young Artists award.