Jonathan Parkin

Award: Postgraduate Award

Year: 2016

Genre: Classical

Instrument/voice type: Guitar

Location: Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance

Originally from Billingham, Teesside, Jonathan gained a 1st Class Honours Degree in classical guitar at the Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama under the tutorship of John Mills, Graham Anthony Devine, Helen Sanderson, Steve Gordon and Elefethria Kotzia. In 2012 Jonathan studied at the Conservatory of Music of Central Finland in Jyvaskyla with the guitarist and composer Kai Nieminen and is currently studying for a Masters in performance on a scholarship at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance.

As well as performing throughout Europe, Jonathan has performed at Kings Place, Leeds College of Music, Dora Stoutzker Hall, Middlesbrough Town Hall, Ushaw College Chapel, Southwark Cathedral, St Martin’s in The Bullring, The National Museum of Wales and for London Guitar Festival, Greenwich Early Music Festival, Exeter Guitar Festival, Leeds Lieder Festival 2013, Sowerby Music and Middlesbrough, Cardiff and Swansea Classical Guitar Societies.

Jonathan is also an active and experienced chamber musician having given recitals with singers Jessica Robinson, Tom Smith and Grace Wain. Jonathan is a member of the What Guitar Trio specialising in contemporary music written for guitar trio.

Jonathan has been active in helping to promote contemporary music on the guitar both as a solo and ensemble instrument by commissioning and premiering works by Dr Robert Spearing, Michael Anthony Hughes, Alexander Corlett and Ben Lunn.

While studying Jonathan has performed in masterclasses with David Miller, Sven Lundestad, Ian Watt Morgan Szymanski, Mark Ashford, Heiki Matlik and Xuefei Yang. In both 2013 and 2015 Jonathan won first prize in the John Mills Guitar Prize.

Jonathan is grateful to be supported for his future studies by The Leverhulme Trust, The Joan Greenfield Trust, The Countess of Munster Musical Trust, The Peter Chase Award and by The Help Musicians’ Postgraduate Award.