Alexandra Gracheva

Award: Postgraduate Award

Year: 2017

Genre: Classical

Instrument/voice type: Piano

Location: Royal Academy of Music


Alexandra Gracheva was born in 1995 in Moscow, Russia. She started studying at the Gnessin School of Music for Gifted Children at the age of four years old with Elena Tolkunova, making her debut performances at the age of six as a pianist and a composer. Also she started composition at the Moscow Conservatory with Professor T. Chudova. She took part s a pianist and composer in the 2004 «Young Geniuses» Festival in Granada, Spain. Alexandra was awarded 1st prizes in several international competitions for young composers in Moscow (« Crystal Kamerton» in 2006, Schnittke Competition in 2005 and 2007).
In 2008 Alexandra moved to the UK and became a pupil at The Purcell School where she was the recipient of a School Scholarship and studied piano with Tatiana Sarkissova.
She was also a participant of master classes with Paul Badura- Skoda, Steven Osbourne, Kathryn Stott, Peter Nagy and Dmitri Alexeev. In 2013 Sasha has performed in the Queen Elizabeth Hall in Southbank Centre with the Liszt 1st piano concerto conducted by Stephen Bell as a winner of the Purcell School Concerto Competition.
Now Alexandra is a student at the Royal Academy of Music in London, UK studying with Tatiana Sarkissova on a full scholarship sponsored by The Russian Foundation. Recently Alexandra won second prize at the Sheepdrove Intercollegiate Competition and the 2nd prize in the Marbella International Piano Competition and won the Claude Beddington Prize, Edna Bralesford Prize and Greta Parkinson Prize. Alexandra has performed in the Wigmore Hall, The Purcell Room, Steinway Hall, Southbank Centre Second, The Ceramic Palace Hall in Seoul, Fazioli Hall in Italy, Sacile, The Front Vestibule Hall at The State Historical Museum in Moscow Red Square, the Moscow International House of Music and Rachmaninov‘s Hall, as a soloist and in chamber groups.
Alexandra gives recitals in Russia, UK, Scotland, Syria, Spain, South Korea and Italy.