Carlijn Metselaar

Award: Fusion Fund

Year: 2019

Genre: Opera

Instrument/voice type: Composer

Location: Wales


Carlijn Metselaar is a composer of contemporary classical music, currently writing a piece for the RSNO Composers’ Hub. Carlijn wrote ‘Blackout’, a short opera for choir, 2 percussion, bass clarinet and piano, as Composer in Residence with WNO Youth Opera, performed in April 2019. She took part in the LPO Young Composers Scheme 2018-19. She composed ‘Octet’ for Berkeley Ensemble as part of Ty Cerdd's CoDI CHAMBER scheme. Her piece 'Night Parade of Monsters' was commissioned by UPROAR: New Music Ensemble, led by Michael Rafferty. Carlijn received a Young Talent Award from the Prins Bernhard Cultuurfonds as well as a scholarship for a PhD in Composition at Cardiff University from October 2018.
Kate Willetts has been an assistant director to Polly Graham (WNO Youth Opera on ‘Kommilitonen!’ in 2016), Rhian Hutchings (Operasonic and WNO Youth and Community on a school-based project ‘Deeds Not Words’ in 2017), and Titas Halder (‘Sinners Club’ in 2017 at The Other Room, Cardiff). She holds a BA Hons (First Class) in Music from Cardiff University, where she directed ‘The Fairy Queen’ for Cardiff University Operatic Society in 2015. She has directed two different versions of ‘The Magic Flute’: the first for St. John’s Opera, Maidenhead in 2017, and most recently for Opera in a Box, Bristol (February 2019), an innovative site specific production in the tunnels under Bristol Temple Meads.
Ruth Rose is librettist and violinist based in Cardiff, and is currently a postgraduate student at the RWCMD. Ruth began writing libretti after winning Scottish Opera's 'Encouraging New Opera' scholarship, where she was commissioned to write a libretto for a fifteen-minute opera. She won the award twice and both of her operas, 'Solace' (2014) and 'The Angel Maker' (2015) were premiered at The Sound Festival in Aberdeen. During her studies, she led the University of Aberdeen Symphony Orchestra (2013/14), the Marischal Chamber Orchestra (2013/14/15) and the Opera Society Orchestra (2014).