Lewis Banks

Award: Postgraduate Award

Year: 2017

Genre: Classical

Instrument/voice type: Saxophone

Location: Royal Conservatoire of Scotland

Lewis Banks studied at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland where he was awarded 100% in his final undergraduate recital, subsequently graduating with a Bachelor of Music with Honours of the First Class. In the same year, whilst still an undergraduate student, Lewis appeared with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra as soloist in Jacques Ibert's 'Concertino da Camera', conducted by Jean - Claude Picard.

As an orchestral musician, Lewis has been freelancing regularly with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra since 2015. More recently, Lewis also featured in a pre - concert recital for the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, performing Sir James Macmillan's 'After the Tryst' with the composer in attendance.

As a performer of contemporary classical music, Lewis was selected as the saxophonist on the London Sinfonietta Academy 2015, culminating with the premiere of the concert version of Mark Bowden's 'Channel Rose' for Soprano Saxophone and Vibraphone at LSO St Lukes. Additionally, Lewis performed with the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra during their ‘Dream on’ project for ‘Shakespeare Lives’ 2016, premiering 4 new works for orchestra as part of a unique collaboration with the Glasgow School of Art and Glasgow University.

Lewis is a member of the Makaris Saxophone quartet, with whom he has played at the Westbourne Concert Series at Merchant's House, Glasgow. In addition, they were invited to perform at the Leeds International Concert Season 2017. The quartet were awarded the Governor's Recital Prize for Chamber Music and the Mary D Adams Prize for Chamber Music in 2016 at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland.

Lewis has been generously supported by a number of organisations throughout his studies, including the Wolfson Foundation, Hope Scott Trust and was an Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music Scholar for 2015 - 16. Lewis is currently continuing his studies as a scholarship student at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland on the Master of Music course (2016 - 18) and is honoured to have been the recipient of the Ian Fleming Award (2016 – 17) and a Postgraduate Study Award (2017 - 18) from Help Musicians UK.